Controlling Your Visibility | Instagram Help Center

CCC-230051

California Rules of Court

Controlling Your Visibility | Instagram Help Center https://help.instagram.com/116024195217477 1/3 Controlling Y our Visibility Setting Y our Photos and Videos to Private About Privacy on Instagram How can we help? Help Center Using InstagramUsing Instagram Managing Y our AccountManaging Y our Account Instagram for BusinessInstagram for Business Troubleshooting and Login HelpTroubleshooting and Login Help Privacy and Safety CenterPrivacy and Safety Center How do I set my photos and videos to private so that only approved followers can see them?

Permalink · Related articles By default, anyone can view your profile and posts on Instagram. Y ou can make your posts private so that only followers you approve can see them. If your posts are set to private, only your approved followers will see them on hashtag or location pages. Posts can't be set to private from a desktop computer. To set your posts to private from the Instagram app on iOS: 1. Go to your profile by tapping 2. Tap in the top right 3.

Turn on the Private Account setting Things to keep in mind about private posts: Private posts you share to social networks may be visible to the public depending on your privacy settings for those networks. For example, a post you share to Twitter that was set to private on Instagram may be visible to the people who can see your Twitter posts. Once you make your posts private, people will have to send you a follow request to see your posts, your followers list or your following list. Follow requests appear in Activity, where you can approve or ignore them.

If someone was already following before you set your posts to private and you don't want them to see your posts, you can block them. People can send a photo or video directly to you even if they’re not following you. Was this information helpful? Y es No How do hashtags work for private photos? Permalink · Related articles If your account is set to private and you add a hashtag to your post, the post won't appear publicly on the corresponding hashtag page. Only your approved followers will be able to see your posts on hashtag pages or in Instagram Direct messages. Was this information helpful?

Y es No Who can see when I've liked a photo, or when someone's liked my photo? When you like a photo, it's visible to anyone who can see the post. Y our followers may also see your username below a photo you've liked, no matter how many likes it has (example: [your username] and others). After likes, photos show the number of likes, along with usernames of some people you follow who have liked it.

If your account is set to private: Only your approved followers can see your posts, including any likes and comments Controlling Your Visibility | Instagram Help Center https://help.instagram.com/116024195217477 2/3 Permalink · Related articles Likes on your posts won't appear in the Activity > Following feed When you like a public post, your like will be visible to everyone and your username will be clickable below the post, but only approved followers can see your posts Was this information helpful? Y es No Are my comments and mentions hidden?

Permalink · Related articles If someone with a private profile mentions someone who isn't one of their approved followers on a photo or video, the person mentioned won't get a notification in the Y ou

section of Activity and they won't get a push notification. If someone with a private profile leaves a comment on a photo that a public Instagrammer uploaded, their comment will be visible and their username will be clickable below that photo. If someone with a private profile sends a photo/video to a specific group of people with Instagram Direct, only people who follow the private profile will be able to see the comments or mentions associated with that photo/video. Was this information helpful? Y es No What happens if I share my post to another social network?

Permalink · Related articles If someone with a private profile shares a photo or video to a social network (like Twitter, Facebook and so on) using Instagram, the image will be visible on that network and the permalink will be active. In other words, the photo will be publicly accessible by anyone who has access to its direct link/URL. Keep in mind that sharing a photo or video to a social network doesn't mean that the image will be visible in Instagram. Y our account will still appear private to those who aren't approved followers. Was this information helpful? Y es No How do I remove a follower?

Permalink · Related articles If your account is set to private, you can remove people from your followers list: 1. Go to your profile 2. Tap Followers at the top of the screen 3. Tap (iPhone) or (Android) to the right of the follower you'd like to remove, then select Remove When you remove a follower, they aren't notified that you've removed them. Y ou can also block someone to get them to stop following you. People aren't notified when you block them. Learn more about blocking people. Was this information helpful? Y es No People are getting suggestions to follow other people after they follow me on Instagram.

How do I opt out of this? When someone taps Follow on your Instagram profile, they'll see suggestions of similar profiles they might also want to follow, such as mutual friends or other people they might know. If you don't want these suggestions to appear on your profile, you can opt out: 1. Log into instagram.com from a desktop computer or your phone's browser 2. Tap or click in the top right, then select Edit Profile 3.

Tap or click next to Similar Account Suggestions, then click Submit Keep in mind that when you opt out of account suggestions on your profile, you won't appear as a suggestion on someone else's profile either. Controlling Your Visibility | Instagram Help Center https://help.instagram.com/116024195217477 3/3 Instagram Privacy on the Web Permalink · Related articlesWas this information helpful? Y es No How can I remove my images from Google search?

Permalink · Related articles Y our images may appear in Google search results if you've logged into your account using a web viewer, which authorizes them to access your profile and images. These third-party sites have been created with our API and aren't affiliated with Instagram directly. If you don't want your photos or videos to appear on Google, we suggest revoking access to the third-party website or setting your account to private. It may take some time for these sites and Google to re-index and remove the images, even if you delete your account.

If you need to contact the app that's displaying your photographs on Google to expedite the process, here are links to support pages for popular third-party services utilizing our API: Webstagram / dm.stagram / search.stagram: Webstagram Gramfeed: @gramfeeed on Twitter Instagreat: @elliotkember on Twitter InstaGallery: http://infinitapps.com/contact.html InstaView: http://www.roguesheep.com/support.html Flipboard: https://flipboard.com/topic/instagram Statigram: contact@statigr.am Followgram: @followgrame on Twitter Cityowls: contact@cityowls.com Instagram isn't directly associated with third-party apps that utilize our API such as web viewers, desktop apps or image printing services, and we can't assist you in speeding up the process to remove any Instagram images that may appear on Google.

Y ou can also find more information on removing a page or site from Google's search results. Was this information helpful? Y es No ABOUT US HELP API JOBS BLOG TERMS PRIVACY © 2018 INSTAGRAM, INC.

Document details

CollectionCalifornia Rules of Court
CitationCCC-230051
Typecourt_rule
Languageen
Formatpdf
SourceCA_ROC
Identifiere9ea8bbb1f209b567e6c6b6742f5ba4bcd43184f

Source file is stored in the law ingest library (pdf).

Controlling Your Visibility | Instagram Help Center

CCC-230051

California Rules of Court

Loading PDF viewer…