2022 NBCA 7, 2022 NBCA 7
Opinion
COURT OF APPEAL OF COUR D’APPEL DU NEW BRUNSWICK NOUVEAU-BRUNSWICK 115-21-CA LLOYD’S UNDERWRITERS APPELLANT LES SOUSCRIPTEURS DU LLOYD’S APPELANTE - and - - et - DOUG JAGOE RESPONDENT DOUG JAGOE INTIMÉ Lloyd’s Underwriters v. Jagoe, 2022 NBCA 7 CORAM: The Honourable Justice Quigg The Honourable Justice Green The Honourable Justice LeBlond Les souscripteurs du Lloyd’s c.
Jagoe, 2022 NBCA 7 CORAM : l’honorable juge Quigg l’honorable juge Green l’honorable juge LeBlond Appeal from a decision of the Court of Queen’s Bench: October 1, 2021 Appel d’une décision de la Cour du Banc de la Reine : le 1 er octobre 2021 History of Case: Historique de la cause : Decision under appeal: 2021 NBQB 220 Décision frappée d’appel : 2021 NBBR 220 Preliminary or incidental proceedings: None Procédures préliminaires ou accessoires : aucune Appeal heard: January 19, 2022 Appel entendu : le 19 janvier 2022 Judgment rendered: March 17, 2022 Jugement rendu : le 17 mars 2022
Reasons for judgment by: The Honourable Justice LeBlond Concurred in by: The Honourable Justice Quigg The Honourable Justice Green Counsel at hearing: For the Appellant: Jamie MacDonald and Jean-Simon Schoenholz For the Respondent: Darren Glyn Blois Motifs de jugement : l’honorable juge LeBlond Souscrivent aux motifs : l’honorable juge Quigg l’honorable juge Green Avocats à l’audience : Pour l’appelante : Jamie MacDonald et Jean-Simon Schoenholz Pour l’intimé : Darren Glyn Blois THE COURT The appeal is dismissed. Lloyd’s is ordered to pay full solicitor-client costs throughout to Mr. Jagoe.
LA COUR L’appel est rejeté. Lloyd’s est condamnée à payer à M. Jagoe l’intégralité de ses frais entre avocat et client à tous les niveaux d’instance. The judgment of the Court was delivered by LEBLOND, J.A. I. Introduction [ 1 ] This appeal concerns insurance contract
interpretation principles. It features the application of long-standing contract-focussed common law rules in the context of the surrounding circumstances leading to the formation of the contract. [ 2 ] The insured, Doug Jagoe, applied for and received insurance coverage from the insurer, the appellant, Lloyd’s Underwriters, for a sporting event. The appeal turns on the wording used by Mr. Jagoe in his application for the coverage in describing the safety precautions he would take for the event and the wording Lloyd’s used in the
summary of warranties and conditions in the policy it issued with respect to those precautions. [ 3 ] A spectator was accidentally injured at the event. She commenced an action against Mr. Jagoe and others. When Mr. Jagoe forwarded the spectator’s Notice of Action with Statement of Claim Attached to Lloyd’s asking that it provide him with a defence in accordance with the terms of the policy, Lloyd’s refused on the basis Mr. Jagoe had breached a warranty in the policy dealing with the safety precautions. It took the position the policy was void ab initio . [ 4 ] Mr.
Jagoe filed a Notice of Application seeking, in part, a declaration that Lloyd’s owed him a duty to defend the action. The application judge ordered Lloyd’s to defend and further ordered Lloyd’s to pay full solicitor-client costs
and disbursements until it assumed conduct of the defence. Lloyd’s now appeals that decision. [ 5 ] For the reasons set out below, I would dismiss the appeal with solicitor-client costs throughout. II. Factual context [ 6 ] For a number of years leading up to the date of the event at issue, Mr. Jagoe organized a “Mud Bog Event” near Clifton, New Brunswick. This is a timed event whereby four-wheel drive vehicles are driven through a linear mud track with the objective of reaching the finish line as quickly as possible. Spectators watch the event from a distance. Mr.
Jagoe organized such an event for August 15, 2020. [ 7 ] In anticipation of the event, Mr. Jagoe wished to secure insurance coverage, and his broker provided him with an application form from an insurer that offered coverage for this type of event. Mr. Jagoe completed the form, which was entitled, “Special Events Liability Application,” on August 14, 2020.
At item 5 of the application, he was asked to provide a “Complete Description of Activities.” He wrote, “Mud trucks drive through a big mud hole, 1 truck at a time, different categories, winners are determined by fastest times.” At item 7, he estimated there would be 45-60 participants. Asked to estimate spectator attendance under the same item, he wrote the number of spectators could reach 1,500. [ 8 ] The most significant portion of the application form for this appeal is item 8. Mr.
Jagoe was asked to provide the following: “Full Description of Safety Precautions: (e.g.: First aid, security, management, traffic).” He wrote, “Guard Rails are present each side of the track, spectators are seated at least 20 to 30 feet from track behind a dirt barrier on top of railings, Fire Department and Paramedics on site.” The final entry of note is at item 22, where he was asked to identify his “previous insurance carrier” and he wrote, “Beacon Underwriting SEL438167,” indicating the number of his previous policy. [ 9 ] In response to the application and, according to the evidence, without making any further inquiry, the same Beacon Underwriting Ltd. issued an Event Liability Coverage Insurance Policy bearing number SEL455878 with an effective date of August 15, 2020, and an expiry date of August 16, 2020.
There is no issue that Lloyd’s is the name for service of its syndicate partners, including Beacon, and that it is the insurer at risk in this case. The premium charged for this single day of coverage was $1,175.00. The Certificate Declaration Page, which forms part of the policy, sets out the policy’s
summary of warranties and conditions. The relevant warranty for our purposes, written by Lloyd’s, is as follows: “Warranted all spectator viewing areas will be a minimum of 20 feet from the mud bog track and behind suitable barriers or fencing.” I note this wording is much broader than the wording used by Mr. Jagoe in the application. It was this warranty, Lloyd’s argues, Mr. Jagoe breached. [ 10 ] Although, as noted, Lloyd’s, through its syndicate partner Beacon, made no further inquiries to obtain better particulars of the safety precautions Mr. Jagoe described in his application, Mr.
Jagoe’s affidavit evidence before the application judge specified the spectator viewing areas were separated from the mud track by: […]
a) an earthen berm on each side of the track, which ran from the start to the finish lines . Each berm was 3 to 4 feet wide and approximately 2 feet high; b) 22 to 24 feet of empty space to each side of the berm;
c) a guardrail, 22 to 24 feet beyond each berm, which also ran from the start line to the finish line . The guardrails were of the type commonly seen on the side of highways – creosoted railway ties driven into the ground, with a piece of corrugated steel running horizontally supported by the railway ties; d) 14 feet of empty space to each side of each guardrail;
e) a rope line, 14 feet beyond each guardrail, which ran from the start line, past the finish line, to approximately 75 feet past the
finish line on the right, further on the left. [Emphasis added; para. 7] [ 11 ] The evidence establishes all spectators were behind the rope lines, some 36 to 38 feet from the mud bog track, between the start and finish lines of the track itself. [ 12 ] It is important to note this is the information to which Mr. Jagoe deposed in his affidavit in support of his application in the court below, information Lloyd’s could have obtained by simply inquiring of Mr. Jagoe had it had any issues with spectator safety. Nothing in the evidence suggests Mr.
Jagoe had attempted to conceal any information. [ 13 ] The injured spectator stood well beyond the finish line, on the drivers’ right side, behind the rope line extension. The evidence establishes the driver of the impugned vehicle had left the mud bog track before reaching the area where the injured spectator was standing.
He has also been named as a defendant in the action. [ 14 ] The application judge held that the words “suitable barriers or fencing” in Lloyd’s warranty could have been more clearly expressed and that, because the word “suitable” was not defined, he could not conclude the rope in front of the injured spectator did not comply with the warranty. As a result, he held that the warranty was too vague to be enforceable and that the policy could not be voided ab initio on that basis (para. 23). III.
Grounds of appeal [ 15 ] Lloyd’s asserts the application judge failed to consider the surrounding circumstances and any other extrinsic evidence in interpreting the warranty and thus committed an extricable error of law. It then contends that error led to an error of mixed fact and law in interpreting the warranty and deciding whether Mr. Jagoe breached it. It argues a proper
interpretation of the warranty would have resulted in a declaration the policy was void ab initio . IV. Standards of review [ 16 ] A judge who fails to consider relevant factors in interpreting a contract commits an error of law reviewable on the standard of correctness: Sattva Capital Corp. v. Creston Moly Corp. , 2014 SCC 53 , [2014] 2 S.C.R. 633 , at para. 53 , citing King v. Operating Engineers Training Institute of Manitoba Inc. , 2011 MBCA 80 , [2011] M.J. No. 311 (QL) , at para. 21 . [ 17 ] However, once all relevant factors are considered, contractual
interpretation becomes a question of mixed fact and law, reviewable on the standard of palpable and overriding error. In the end, only in rare circumstances should appellate courts stray from the palpable and overriding standard in reviewing contractual
interpretations: Directcash ATM Management Partnership et al. v. Maurice’s Gas & Convenience Inc. et al. , 2015 NBCA 36 , 437 N.B.R. (2d) 292 , at para. 17 . V. Analysis [ 18 ] The application judge had the evidence summarized above before him in assessing the “suitability” of Mr. Jagoe’s safety precautions.
Although he did not refer specifically to the application form as an interpretive factor for consideration in his reasons and he considered instead whether the rope was “suitable,” he would have reached the same result in my view had he referred to it. [ 19 ] To the extent all the evidence contained in the application form and the warranty was fully argued before us, the Court can render any decision that ought to have been made with respect to the interpretive issue: Rule 62.21(1) of the Rules of Court , as interpreted by Wallace v.
Thibodeau , 2008 NBCA 78 , 337 N.B.R. (2d) 342 , at para. 29 . [ 20 ] In this case, the Court is in as good a position as the application judge to determine the legal effect of a contract where that determination is based exclusively on a textual analysis (see Caisse populaire de Grand-Sault ltée v.
Crédit Bombardier ltée/Bombardier Credit Ltd. et autre (1998), (NB CA), 199 N.B.R. (2d) 350, [1998] A.N.-B. no 141 (QL) (C.A.); Controls & Equipment Ltd. v. Ramco Contractors Ltd. et al. (1999), (NB CA), 209 N.B.R. (2d) 1,[1999] N.B.J. No. 20 (QL) (C.A.)). [21] No formal Notice of Contention from Mr. Jagoe is required here under Rule 62.08(
a) becausethe application judge’s ultimate decision is not being affirmed on grounds different from those he addressed, which centred on contractinterpretation. The sole difference is, in the reasons for upholding the decision below, the focus is on other evidence, namely thewording contained in the warranty when contrasted to that in the application form. The application judge’s analysis is still germane to theone that follows. [22] Mr. Jagoe wrote in the application form safety precautions would be taken on EACH SIDE OFTHE TRACK, and spectators would be seated 20-30 feet FROM THE TRACK BEHIND A DIRT BARRIER.
Clearly, he was concernedwith the TRACK. No racing take places outside its start and finish lines. His affidavit evidence referenced above confirms this, and thereis nothing unreasonable about taking this position from Mr. Jagoe’s perspective. He would have understood his insurer to be interested inknowing which precautions would be in place where the actual racing through the mud bog was to occur.
Moreover, he would have hadno reason to think Lloyd’s took a different position when he read its warranty, which stated all spectator viewing areas would lie aminimum of 20 feet FROM THE MUD BOG TRACK AND BEHIND SUITABLE BARRIERS OR FENCING. This clearly suggestsMr. Jagoe thought Lloyd’s was also focussed on the MUD BOG TRACK in terms of spectator safety. Mr. Jagoe’s application indicatedspectators would be seated a certain distance away from the track; he did not focus on spectators who might stand elsewhere.
It isreasonable to assume there might be other people viewing the event from a distance beyond the finish line, but the mud bog track did notextend to that area. The spectators who stood behind the rope line past the track were still at least 20 feet away from the track itself. [23] In the denial of coverage letter its coverage counsel sent to Mr. Jagoe, which was in evidencebefore the application judge, Lloyd’s identifies on a photograph the area where the injured spectator stood.
It is far from the finish line.Lloyd’s takes the position that, because the protective barrier did not extend beyond the mud bog track to where this individual and otherspectators stood, Mr. Jagoe breached the warranty, which begs the question: precisely how long past the finish line of the mud bog trackwould Lloyd’s have expected the barriers to extend? The ambiguity raised by the mere question speaks volumes, particularly whenLloyd’s reference in the warranty to suitable barriers or fencing is tied to the mud bog track and nothing beyond it.
Even if Lloyd’sinterpretation of the warranty relating to safety measures were accepted, the spectator still stood a minimum of 20 feet back from THEMUD BOG TRACK and behind a suitable barrier for the area. [24] In Progressive Homes Ltd. v. Lombard General Insurance Co. of Canada, 2010 SCC 33, [2010]2 S.C.R. 245, a duty to defend case under a commercial general liability policy, the issue was whether claims against the insured wereincluded in coverage.
Rothstein J., writing for a unanimous Supreme Court, stated the insurer’s duty to defend is triggered if thepleadings against the insured fall within the initial grant of coverage (para. 19). That is not an issue in this case, as the injured spectator’sStatement of Claim clearly meets that criterion. [25] Rothstein J. then addresses the general principles of policy
interpretation. The primaryinterpretive principle is, when the language of the policy is unambiguous, the court should give effect to it, reading the contract as awhole (para. 22, citing Non-Marine Underwriters, Lloyd’s of London v. Scalera, 2000 SCC 24, [2000] 1 S.C.R. 551, at para. 71). [26] As I note above, an obvious ambiguity arises in this case. In that situation, as Rothstein J. wrotefurther at para. 23, courts apply general rules of contract
interpretation. A court should prefer an
interpretation that is consistent with thereasonable expectations of the parties (Scalera, at para. 71) so long as it is supported by the text of the policy. Courts must avoidinterpretations that lead to unrealistic results or that would not have been in the contemplation of the parties at the time the policy wasissued. [27] A policy is construed contra proferentum against the insurer only when the application of thegeneral rules cannot resolve an ambiguity (Progressive Homes, at para. 24). That does not arise in this case. [28] In Sattva Capital Corp., Rothstein J., again writing for a unanimous court, stated that principlesof contractual
interpretation are to be applied to the words of a contract and considered in light of its factual matrix (para. 50). Again, thegoal is to ascertain the objective intention of the parties, which is inherently a fact-specific exercise: “The overriding concern is todetermine ‘the intent of the parties and the scope of their understanding’” (see Sattva Capital Corp., at para. 47, citing Jesuit Fathers ofUpper Canada v. Guardian Insurance Co. of Canada, 2006 SCC 21, [2006] 1 S.C.R. 744, at para. 27). Rothstein J. then writes:
[…] To do so, a decision-maker must read the contract as a whole, giving the words used their ordinary and grammatical meaning,consistent with the surrounding circumstances known to the parties at the time of formation of the contract. Consideration of thesurrounding circumstances recognizes that ascertaining contractual intention can be difficult when looking at words on their own,because words alone do not have an immutable or absolute meaning […] [para. 47] [29] The meaning of words is often derived from a number of contextual factors, including thepurpose of the agreement (Mr.
Jagoe simply wanted insurance to cover his event) and the nature of the relationship created by theagreement (the peace of mind that comes with insurance in this case). The meaning of an agreement is what the parties would reasonablyhave understood the words used in it to mean, contrasted against the relevant background: Investors Compensation Scheme Ltd. v. WestBromwich Building Society, [1998] 1 All E.R. 98 (H.L.), at p. 115. [30] Rothstein J. then develops the notion of the role and nature of surrounding circumstances.
Hewrites the goal of considering them is to assist in understanding the mutual and objective intentions of the parties as expressed in thewords they used in the contract and not to deviate from them and create a new agreement. Only the background facts at the time ofexecution of the contract should be considered, that is, the knowledge that was or ought reasonably to have been within thecontemplation of both parties at the time of entering into the contract.
This knowledge refers to anything that might have affected the wayin which the language of the document would have been understood by a reasonable person (Investors Compensation, at p. 114). In theend, whether something was or reasonably ought to have been within the common knowledge of the parties at the time of execution is aquestion of fact. [31] There can be no question Mr. Jagoe understood his insurer’s primary concern was the safetymeasures to be in place in the area where the races did occur.
Lloyd’s confirmed this understanding, using different wording, by referringin its warranty to the same measures to be taken along the track. It was not looking to force Mr. Jagoe to alter or extend the precautionshe had indicated he would take. It cannot now be argued that Mr. Jagoe ought to have understood Lloyd’s was also referring toadditional measures for spectators situated well beyond the racetrack. [32] A breach of warranty results in the draconian effect of leaving an insured without the protectionbargained for.
As a result, such a breach must be construed narrowly (see Elafonissos Fishing and Shipping Company v. AigaionInsurance Company SA., [2012] EWHC 1512; Reid Crowther & Partners Ltd. v. Simcoe & Erie General Insurance Co., (CSC), [1993] 1 S.C.R. 252, [1993] S.C.J. No. 10 (QL), at p. 269). Although, in my view, I need not narrowly construe Lloyd’sposition on the alleged breach of warranty given the analysis above, I would not hesitate to do so if it were necessary. [33] I would dismiss the appeal.
Since this is a duty to defend case where the insured was required toincur costs to retain counsel and apply for an order seeking a declaration, the insurer is obligated to provide a defence at its cost. Inkeeping with the Court’s position in cases of this nature, I would order Lloyd’s pay Mr. Jagoe his full solicitor-client costs throughout:Co-operators General Insurance v. Richard, O’Regan, Les Fermes Gervais, Gervais and Les Fermes Dionne/Dionne Farms, 2002NBCA 98, 255 N.B.R. (2d) 6. VI. Disposition [34] I would dismiss the appeal and order Lloyd’s pay full solicitor-client costs throughout to Mr.Jagoe.
Version française de la décision de la Cour rendue par LE JUGE LEBLOND I. Introduction
[1] Le présent appel porte sur les principes d’interprétation des contrats d’assurance. Il fait intervenir l’application de règles de common law établies depuis longtemps en matière contractuelle, dans le contexte des circonstances qui ont conduit à la formation du contrat. [2] L’assuré, Doug Jagoe, a demandé et obtenu la protection d’une police d’assurance de l’assureure, l’appelante, Les souscripteurs du Lloyd’s, pour un événement sportif. L’appel porte sur la formulation utilisée par M.
Jagoe dans sa demande de protection pour décrire les mesures de sécurité qu’il prendrait pour l’événement et sur la formulation utilisée par Lloyd’s dans le résumé des conditions essentielles de la police qu’elle a émise relativement à ces mesures. [3] Une spectatrice a été blessée accidentellement lors de l’événement. Elle a intenté une poursuite contre M. Jagoe et d’autres personnes . Lorsque M. Jagoe a transmis l’avis de poursuite accompagné d’un exposé de la demande de la spectatrice à Lloyd’s en lui demandant de le défendre, conformément aux clauses de la police, elle a refusé au motif que M.
Jagoe avait violé une condition essentielle de la police portant sur les mesures de sécurité. Lloyd’s a adopté la position que la police était nulle ab initio . [4] M. Jagoe a déposé un avis de requête dans lequel il sollicitait, entre autres choses, une déclaration portant que Lloyd’s était tenue de le défendre contre l’action. Le juge saisi de la requête a ordonné à Lloyd’s de le défendre et l’a, de plus, condamné à lui payer tous ses frais entre avocat et client et les débours jusqu’à la prise en charge de sa défense.
Lloyd’s porte cette décision en appel. [5] Pour les motifs exposés ci-dessous, je suis d’avis de rejeter l’appel et de condamner l’appelante à payer à l’intimé ses frais entre avocat et client à tous les niveaux d’instance. II. Contexte factuel [6] Pendant un certain nombre d’années avant la date de l’événement en cause, M. Jagoe a organisé un [TRADUCTION] « événement de course automobile dans la boue » près de Clifton, au Nouveau-Brunswick.
Il s’agit d’un événement chronométré au cours duquel des véhicules à quatre roues motrices sont conduits sur une piste de boue linéaire dans le but d’atteindre le fil d’arrivée le plus rapidement possible. Les spectateurs regardent l’événement à une certaine distance. M. Jagoe a organisé un tel événement pour le 15 août 2020. [7] En prévision de l’événement, M. Jagoe a souhaité obtenir la protection d’une police d’assurance, et son courtier lui a fourni un formulaire de demande d’un assureur offrant une protection pour ce type d’événement. M.
Jagoe a rempli le formulaire intitulé [TRADUCTION] « Demande d’assurance de responsabilité pour la tenue d’événements spéciaux » le 14 août 2020. À la rubrique 5 du formulaire, on lui demandait de fournir la [TRADUCTION] « Description complète des activités ». Il a écrit [TRADUCTION] « Les camions de course dans la boue roulent dans un grand trou de boue, un camion à la fois, dans différentes catégories; les gagnants sont déterminés par les temps les plus rapides. » À la rubrique 7, il a estimé qu’il y aurait de 45 à 60 participants.
Invité à estimer le nombre de spectateurs dans la même rubrique, il a écrit qu’il pourrait atteindre 1 500. [8] La
partie la plus importante du formulaire de demande pour le présent appel se trouve à la rubrique 8, où M. Jagoe devait fournir ce qui suit : la [TRADUCTION] « Description complète des mesures de sécurité : (notamment en ce qui concerne les premiers secours, la sécurité, la gestion et la circulation) ».
Il a écrit que [TRADUCTION] « [d]es glissières de sécurité sont présentes de chaque côté de la piste, les spectateurs seront assis à une distance minimale de 20 à 30 pieds de la piste, derrière une barrière de terre disposée sur les glissières de sécurité, et le Service d’incendie ainsi que des ambulanciers paramédicaux seront sur les lieux. »
La dernière déclaration à noter se trouve à la rubrique 22, où on lui demandait d’indiquer son [TRADUCTION] « dernier assureur » et où il a écrit « Beacon Underwriting SEL438167 », précisant ainsi le numéro de la police précédente. [9] En réponse à la demande de protection et, selon la preuve, sans chercher à en savoir plus, ce même assureur, Beacon Underwriting Ltd, a émis une police d’assurance de responsabilité civile relative à un événement portant le numéro SEL455878, devant prendre effet le 15 août 2020 et venir à échéance le 16 août 2020.
Le fait que Lloyd’s soit le nom employé aux fins de signification à ses partenaires membres du syndicat, y compris Beacon, et qu’elle soit l’assureure concernée en l’espèce n’est pas contesté. La prime demandée pour cette seule journée de protection était de 1 175 $. La page des déclarations du certificat, qui fait
partie de la police, présente le résumé des conditions essentielles de la police. Voici la condition essentielle rédigée par Lloyd’s qui nous intéresse en l’espèce : [TRADUCTION] « Il est entendu que toutes les zones d’observation des spectateurs doivent se trouver à une
distance minimale de 20 pieds de la piste de boue, derrière des barrières ou clôtures appropriées. » Je signale que cette formulation est beaucoup plus large que celle utilisée par M. Jagoe dans le formulaire de demande. Il s’agit de la condition essentielle que M. Jagoe a violée, selon Lloyd’s. [10] Bien que, comme je l’ai noté, Lloyd’s, par l’intermédiaire de Beacon, sa partenaire membre du syndicat, n’ait pas cherché à obtenir plus de détails sur les mesures de sécurité décrites par M. Jagoe dans son formulaire de demande, l’affidavit de M.
Jagoe présenté au juge de première instance précisait que les zones d’observation des spectateurs étaient séparées de la piste de boue par : [TRADUCTION] […]
a) une berme de terre de chaque côté de la piste, qui allait du fil de départ jusqu’au fil d’arrivée . Chaque berme était de 3 à 4 pieds de largeur et d’environ 2 pieds de hauteur;
b) il y avait de 22 à 24 pieds d’espace libre de chaque côté de la berme;
c) une glissière de sécurité, de 22 à 24 pieds au-delà de chaque berme, allait également du fil de départ jusqu’au fil d’arrivée . Les glissières de sécurité étaient du type de celles que l’on voit couramment sur le bord des autoroutes – des traverses de chemin de fer créosotées enfoncées dans le sol, avec un morceau de tôle ondulée courant horizontalement et soutenu par les traverses de chemin de fer;
d) il y avait 14 pieds d’espace libre de part et d’autre des glissières de sécurité;
e) à 14 pieds au-delà de chacune des glissières de sécurité, un câble était tendu du fil de départ jusqu’à environ 75 pieds plus loin que le fil d’arrivée sur la droite, et plus loin encore sur la gauche . [Je souligne; par. 7] [11] La preuve établit que tous les spectateurs se trouvaient derrière les câbles, à environ 36 à 38 pieds de la piste de boue, entre le fil de départ et le fil d’arrivée de la piste elle-même. [12] Il est important de noter qu’il s’agit des renseignements déclarés par M.
Jagoe dans son affidavit à l’appui de sa requête devant le tribunal inférieur, renseignements que Lloyd’s aurait pu facilement obtenir par une simple demande à M. Jagoe si elle avait la moindre inquiétude concernant la sécurité des spectateurs. Rien dans la preuve ne laisse entendre que M. Jagoe a tenté de dissimuler des renseignements. [13] La spectatrice blessée se trouvait bien au-delà du fil d’arrivée, du côté droit des conducteurs, derrière le prolongement du câble.
La preuve établit que le conducteur du véhicule en cause avait quitté la piste de boue avant d’atteindre la zone où la spectatrice blessée se tenait debout. Il a également été nommément désigné défendeur dans l’action. [14] Le juge saisi de la requête a estimé que les mots [TRADUCTION] « barrières ou clôtures appropriées » dans la condition essentielle de Lloyd’s auraient pu être plus précis et que, le mot [TRADUCTION] « approprié » n’étant pas défini, il ne pouvait pas conclure que le câble devant la spectatrice blessée n’était pas conforme à la condition essentielle.
Par conséquent, il a jugé que la condition essentielle était trop vague pour être exécutoire et que la police ne pouvait être annulée ab initio sur ce fondement (par. 23). III. Moyens d’appel [15] Lloyd’s avance que le juge saisi de la requête n’a pas tenu compte des circonstances et des autres moyens de preuve extrinsèque dans son interprétation de la condition essentielle et a donc commis une erreur de droit isolable.
L’appelante prétend ensuite que cette erreur a conduit à une erreur mixte de fait et de droit dans l’interprétation de la condition essentielleet dans la décision quant à savoir si M. Jagoe l’a violée. Elle soutient qu’une interprétation correcte de la condition essentielle auraitentraîné une déclaration de nullité ab initio de la police. IV. Normes de contrôle [16] Le juge qui omet de tenir compte des facteurs pertinents dans l’interprétation d’un contratcommet une erreur de droit susceptible de contrôle selon la norme de la décision correcte : Sattva Capital Corp. c.
Creston Moly Corp.,2014 CSC 53, [2014] 2 R.C.S. 633, par. 53, citant King c. Operating Engineers Training Institute of Manitoba Inc., 2011 MBCA 80,[2011] M.J. No. 311 (QL), par. 21. [17] Cependant, une fois que tous les facteurs pertinents sont pris en compte, l’interprétation ducontrat devient une question mixte de fait et de droit, susceptible de contrôle selon la norme de l’erreur manifeste et dominante.
En fin decompte, ce n’est que dans de rares circonstances que les cours d’appel devraient s’écarter de la norme de l’erreur manifeste et dominantedans le contrôle des décisions en matière d’interprétation contractuelle : Directcash ATM Management Partnership et autre c. Maurice’s Gas & Convenience Inc. et autres, 2015 NBCA 36, 437 R.N.-B. (2e) 292, par. 17. V. Analyse [18] Le juge saisi de la requête disposait de la preuve résumée ci-dessus pour évaluer si les mesuresde sécurité prises par M. Jagoe étaient [TRADUCTION] « appropriées ».
Bien qu’il n’ait pas fait spécifiquement référence, dans sesmotifs, au formulaire de demande comme facteur à prendre en considération dans l’interprétation et qu’il ait plutôt examiné si le câbleétait [TRADUCTION] « approprié », j’estime qu’il serait arrivé au même résultat s’il y avait fait référence. [19] Dans la mesure où tous les moyens de preuve contenus dans le formulaire de demande et lacondition essentielle ont été pleinement plaidés devant nous, la Cour peut rendre la décision qui aurait dû être prise en ce qui concerne laquestion d’interprétation : règle 62.21(1) des Règles de procédure, selon l’interprétation qui en est donnée dans l’arrêt Wallace c.
Thibodeau, 2008 NBCA 78, 337 R.N.-B, (2e) 342, par. 29. [20] En l’espèce, la Cour est aussi bien placée que le juge saisi de la requête pour déterminer l’effetjuridique d’un contrat lorsque cette détermination est fondée exclusivement sur une analyse textuelle (voir l’arrêt Caisse populaire de Grand-Sault ltée c. Crédit Bombardier ltée/Bombardier Credit Ltd. et autre (1998), (NB CA), 199 R.N.-B. (2e) 350, [1998] A.N.-B. no 141 (QL) (C.A.), et l’arrêt Controls & Equipment Ltd. c.
Ramco Contractors Ltd. et al. (1999), (NB CA), 209 R.N.-B. (2e) 1, [1999] A.N.-B. no 20 (QL) (C.A.)). [21] Aucun avis formel de désaccord de la part de M. Jagoe n’est requis en l’espèce en applicationde la règle 62.08a), parce que la décision définitive du juge saisi de la requête n’est pas confirmée pour des motifs différents de ceuxqu’il a abordés et qui faisaient intervenir l’interprétation du contrat.
La seule différence est que, dans les motifs énoncés pour confirmerla décision rendue à l’instance inférieure, l’accent est mis sur un autre élément de preuve, à savoir le libellé de la condition essentiellepar opposition à celui du formulaire de demande. L’analyse du juge saisi de la requête reste pertinente pour ce qui est de l’analyse quisuit. [22] M. Jagoe a écrit dans le formulaire de demande que des mesures de sécurité seraient prises deCHAQUE CÔTÉ DE LA PISTE, et que les spectateurs seraient assis à 20 à 30 pieds DE LA PISTE, DERRIÈRE UNE BARRIÈRE DETERRE. Il est évident qu’il était préoccupé par la PISTE.
Aucune course n’a lieu en dehors de ses fils de départ et d’arrivée. Sontémoignage par affidavit mentionné ci-dessus le confirme, et il n’y a rien de déraisonnable à se placer du point de vue de M. Jagoe. Ilaurait compris que son assureure veuille savoir quelles mesures seraient en place là où la course dans la boue devait se tenir.
De plus, iln’aurait eu aucune raison de penser que Lloyd’s faisait une lecture différente de la sienne lorsqu’il a lu la condition essentielle, selonlaquelle toutes les zones d’observation des spectateurs se trouveraient à une distance minimale de 20 pieds DE LA PISTE DE BOUE,DERRIÈRE DES BARRIÈRES OU CLÔTURES APPROPRIÉES. Cela laisse manifestement entendre que M. Jagoe estimait queLloyd’s se préoccupait comme lui de la PISTE DE BOUE pour ce qui est de la sécurité des spectateurs. Dans le formulaire de demande,M.
Jagoe indiquait que les spectateurs seraient assis à une certaine distance de la piste; il n’a pas mis l’accent sur les spectateurs quipourraient se tenir debout ailleurs. Il est raisonnable de supposer que d’autres personnes pourraient observer l’événement à une certainedistance au-delà de la ligne d’arrivée, mais la piste de boue ne s’étendait pas jusqu’à cette zone. Les spectateurs qui se tenaient derrière lecâble qui dépassait la piste se trouvaient malgré tout à au moins 20 pieds de la piste elle-même.
[23] Dans la lettre de refus de protection envoyée à M. Jagoe par l’avocat qui s’occupe de la protection d’assurance, lettre qui a été produite en preuve devant le juge saisi de la requête, Lloyd’s indique sur une photo la zone où la spectatrice blessée se tenait debout. C’est loin du fil d’arrivée. Lloyd’s estime que, parce que la barrière de sécurité ne s’étendait pas au-delà de la piste de boue jusqu’à l’endroit où cette personne et d’autres spectateurs se tenaient debout, M.
Jagoe a violé la condition essentielle, ce qui soulève la question suivante : jusqu’à quelle distance précise au-delà du fil d’arrivée de la piste de boue Lloyd’s se serait-elle attendue à ce que les barrières s’étendent? L’ambiguïté soulevée par la simple question est révélatrice, en particulier lorsque la référence de Lloyd’s à des barrières ou clôtures appropriées est liée, dans la condition essentielle, à la piste de boue et à rien au-delà.
Même si l’interprétation donnée par Lloyd’s à la condition essentielle concernant les mesures de sécurité était acceptée, la spectatrice se tenait néanmoins à un minimum de 20 pieds en retrait de LA PISTE DE BOUE et derrière une barrière appropriée pour cette zone. [24] Dans l’arrêt Progressive Homes Ltd. c.
Cie canadienne d’assurances générales Lombard , 2010 CSC 33 , [2010] 2 R.C.S. 245 , portant sur l’obligation de défendre en application d’une police d’assurance de responsabilité civile des entreprises, la question était de savoir si les réclamations contre l’assuré étaient comprises dans la protection d’assurance. Le juge Rothstein, qui rendait le jugement unanime de la Cour suprême, a déclaré que l’obligation d’un assureur de défendre est déclenchée si les allégations faites contre l’assuré relèvent de la protection initiale du contrat d’assurance (par. 19).
La question ne se pose pas en l’espèce, car l’exposé de la demande de la spectatrice blessée répond manifestement à ce critère. [25] Le juge Rothstein examine ensuite les principes généraux d’interprétation des polices d’assurance. Selon le premier principe d’interprétation, lorsque le texte de la police n’est pas ambigu, le tribunal doit l’interpréter en le considérant dans son ensemble (par. 22, citant Non-Marine Underwriters, Lloyd’s of London c. Scalera , 2000 CSC 24 , [2000] 1 R.C.S. 551 , par. 71 ). [26] Comme je l’indique plus haut, il y a une ambiguïté évidente en l’espèce.
Dans une telle situation, comme le juge Rothstein l’a écrit plus loin au par. 23, les tribunaux appliquent les règles générales d’interprétation des contrats. Ils devraient privilégier des interprétations qui sont conformes aux attentes raisonnables des parties ( Scalera , au par. 71 ), tant que le libellé de la police peut étayer de telles interprétations.
Les tribunaux doivent éviter les interprétations qui aboutissent à un résultat irréaliste ou que n’auraient pas envisagé les parties au moment où la police a été contractée. [27] Ils interprètent la police contra proferentem – contre l’assureur – seulement lorsque les règles générales d’interprétation ne permettent pas de dissiper l’ambiguïté ( Progressive Homes , par. 24).
Ce n’est pas le cas en l’espèce. [28] Dans l’arrêt Sattva Capital Corp. , le juge Rothstein, qui rendait encore une fois le jugement unanime de la Cour, a déclaré que les principes d’interprétation contractuelle s’appliquent aux termes figurant dans le contrat, à la lumière du fondement factuel (par. 50). Encore une fois, le but de l’interprétation contractuelle, à savoir de déterminer l’intention objective des parties, est par nature axé sur les faits.
« La question prédominante consiste à discerner “l’intention des parties et la portée de l’entente” » (voir l’ arrêt Sattva Capital Corp. , par. 47 , citant Jesuit Fathers of Upper Canada c. Cie d’assurance Guardian du Canada , 2006 CSC 21 , [2006] 1 R.C.S. 744 , par. 27 ). Le juge Rothstein écrit ensuite : […] Pour ce faire, le décideur doit interpréter le contrat dans son ensemble, en donnant aux mots y figurant le sens ordinaire et grammatical qui s’harmonise avec les circonstances dont les parties avaient connaissance au moment de la conclusion du contrat.
Par l’examen des circonstances, on reconnaît qu’il peut être difficile de déterminer l’intention contractuelle à partir des seuls mots, car les mots en soi n’ont pas un sens immuable ou absolu […] [par. 47] [29] Le sens des mots est souvent déterminé en fonction d’un certain nombre de facteurs contextuels, y compris l’ objet de l’entente (M. Jagoe voulait simplement une assurance pour couvrir son événement) et la nature des rapports créés par celle-ci (en l’occurrence, la tranquillité d’esprit que procure une assurance).
Le sens du contrat représente le sens qu’il est raisonnable de croire que les parties ont attribué aux mots employés dans le contrat, compte tenu du contexte pertinent : voir l’arrêt Investors Compensation Scheme Ltd. c. West Bromwich Building Society , [1998] 1 All E.R. 98 (Ch. des lords) , p. 115 . [30] Le juge Rothstein se penche ensuite sur la question du rôle et de la nature des circonstances.
Il écrit que l’examen de ces notions sert à mieux saisir les intentions réciproques et objectives des parties exprimées dans les mots qu’elles ont employés dans le contrat et non à s’en écarter au point de créer une nouvelle entente. Il faut tenir compte uniquement du contexte factuel à la date de la signature du contrat, c’est-à-dire des renseignements dont les parties ont ou auraient dû raisonnablement avoir déjà pris connaissance au moment de conclure le contrat.
Cette connaissance fait référence à tout ce qui aurait pu avoir une incidence sur la manière dont le libellé du document aurait été compris par une personne raisonnable ( Investors Compensation , p. 114). En fin de compte, la question de savoir si une chose était ou aurait raisonnablement dû être connue des parties au moment de la signature est une question
de fait. [31] Il ne fait aucun doute que M. Jagoe a compris que son assureure se préoccupait principalementdes mesures de sécurité qui seraient mises en place dans la zone où les courses avaient lieu. Lloyd’s a confirmé cette compréhension, enutilisant une formulation différente dans sa police, pour référer aux mêmes mesures à prendre le long de la piste. Elle ne cherchait pas àobliger M. Jagoe à modifier ou à étendre les mesures de sécurité qu’il avait indiqué qu’il allait prendre. Elle ne peut prétendreaujourd’hui que M.
Jagoe aurait dû comprendre qu’elle faisait également référence à des mesures supplémentaires pour les spectateurssitués bien au-delà de la piste de course. [32] Le manquement à une condition essentielle a pour effet draconien de laisser l’assuré sans laprotection qu’il a négociée. Par conséquent, une telle violation doit être interprétée de manière restrictive (voir l’arrêt Elafonissos Fishingand Shipping Company c. Aigaion Insurance Company SA., [2012] EWHC 1512, et l’arrêt Reid Crowther & Partners Ltd. c. Simcoe & Erie General Insurance Co., (CSC), [1993] 1 R.C.S. 252, [1993] A.C.S. no 10 (QL), p. 269).
Bien que, à mon avis, jen’aie pas besoin d’interpréter de manière restrictive la position de Lloyd’s sur la violation alléguée de la condition essentielle comptetenu de l’analyse ci-dessus, je n’hésiterais pas à le faire si cela était nécessaire. [33] Je rejetterais l’appel. Puisqu’il s’agit en l’espèce d’une obligation de défendre où l’assuré a dûengager des frais pour retenir les services d’un avocat et demander une ordonnance déclaratoire, l’assureure est tenue de fournir unedéfense à ses frais. Conformément à la position de la Cour dans des affaires de même nature, j’ordonnerais à Lloyd’s de payer àM.
Jagoe l’intégralité de ses frais entre avocat et client à tous les niveaux d’instance : voir l’arrêt Co-operators General Insurance Company c. Richard, O’Regan, Les Fermes Gervais, Gervais, Les Fermes Dionne/Dionne Farms, 2002 NBCA 98, 255 R.N.-B. (2e) 6. VI. Dispositif [34] Je rejetterais l’appel et j’ordonnerais à Lloyd’s de payer à M. Jagoe l’intégralité de ses fraisentre avocat et client à tous les niveaux d’instance.
Loading document…